Gavin Barker header image 2

foto.com review – poor quality print

September 1st, 2010 · 25 Comments

Just a quick review of my experience with foto.com

Having just received an order from foto.com that I am not particularly happy with I thought I would give it a quick review. I ordered from foto.com in the UK and went for their two sided greetings cards – Classic 10x15cm.

The quality of the print for the front image is fine, but the text inside the card is fuzzy and not acceptable. I used their online ordering system and went for an italic font for the writing and you can see the result below where it says ‘August 2010’. Interestingly, the ‘product: 10×15’ text is just a part of their packaging that is printed on the same cards and that text is perfectly clear and acceptable. I appreciate the image below is a scan but you can see the difference and that difference matters when looking at the finished product. The printing is poor quality, fuzzy and looks rubbish.

OK, not a problem I will contact Customer Services and send them my scan. Here is the response from foto.com customer services …

Dear Customer,

To be honest, I don’t quite understand because when looking at the scan you provided the quality of the printing seems perfectly fine. Of course it isn’t as clear as the reference text but that is because you chose a more elegant font that is in italic.

I could, if you wish, ask for a reprint, but the result would be the same. However, if you still want a reprint, could you please send us proof that you have teared up, shredded or destroyed the order? Simply take a photo with your digital camera of the destroyed order and send it as an attachment to my email address.

This is standard procedure and we need this before we can refund or reprint the order.

Kind regards,

Jonathan
English Customer Support Foto.com

So it is my fault for choosing an ‘elegant font that is in italic’. Surely if they cannot print that font properly they shouldn’t give me the option to use it. It was nice of them to offer to reprint them just as poorly again but I didn’t take them up on the offer. It’s that poor customer service that puts you off a company.

Lesson learnt. Don’t use foto.com again.

Anybody else had poor quality printing from foto.com ?

UPDATE: it seems I am not the only one unhappy with foto.com judging by the comments below, others have experienced poor quality and bad customer service.

UPDATE 2: This page is now being seen on average 12 times a day by people doing a search for foto.com review, foto.com quality that is 360 people a month hearing about my bad experience. I wonder how many of them are likely to go on to place an order with foto.com ?

UPDATE 3: I have now received a full refund from foto.com for this order. Thank you.

Tags: Daily Life

25 responses so far ↓

  • 1 Steve // Sep 6, 2010 at 11:08 pm

    I too had a bad foto.com experience with these cards. I must have chosen that same ‘elegant font’ as you since my cards were poor quality printing inside. I didn’t even bother contacting them but it has put me off ordering anything else from foto.com

  • 2 John // Sep 7, 2010 at 5:15 pm

    So the question is – are foto.com any good?

  • 3 gavin // Sep 7, 2010 at 10:20 pm

    That depends John on what you want from them. I used foto.com UK for greetings cards and they were not good enough for me. The customer service experience was also lacking as they didn’t seem to care too much that the product I bought wasn’t of a decent quality. In fact they made me feel like I did something wrong which I certainly didn’t.

  • 4 PsiRor // Sep 9, 2010 at 8:15 am

    I’ve just stumbled across this page after receiving some rubbish cards. It seems it is not worth complaining though so I too will avoid foto.com in the future.

  • 5 John // Sep 16, 2010 at 9:56 pm

    Just remembered your site and popped back and there are more people unhappy with foto.com quality. I guess that has made up my mind to avoid foto.com. No doubt they have many satisfied customers, but for me I like to know about peoples experience with poor customer services as sods law says I will need it. Thanks for taking the time for sharing your experience with foto.com i appreciate but I doubt that they will!!!

  • 6 Matt // Sep 21, 2010 at 9:04 am

    its not just me then.i had some poor quality prints from them and the customer service was even poorer so add me to your growing list of bad reviews for foto.com

  • 7 gavin // Sep 21, 2010 at 10:37 am

    I didn’t think I would be alone and this many comments already has proven that. I am also getting alot of visitors to the site from google after people search for foto.com quality -no great surpise there as the site is listed number 2 right after foto.com themselves… http://www.google.co.uk/search?q=foto.com+quality

  • 8 Thank you « Sonia's Crazy Life // Sep 21, 2010 at 10:07 pm

    […] would like to take this opportunity to link to a foto.com review highlighting the poor quality of text inside them. Comments […]

  • 9 Graham // Sep 24, 2010 at 10:04 pm

    hmm. after a quick read here i think i will look elsewhere. its amazing what a quick search in google shows up and i cant imagine foto.com will be very happy with your review featuring so high

  • 10 Grateful // Sep 26, 2010 at 9:02 pm

    Found your site after receiving a photo card from someone. I wasn’t that impressed with the quality of it but was curious about foto.com so googled it. I won’t upset the sender by him i think it is poor quality but i certainly wont use them myself.

  • 11 nameless // Sep 27, 2010 at 11:10 am

    thanks. you have probably just saved me some grief as i was about to place an order with them and wont bother now.

  • 12 eddie // Nov 29, 2010 at 9:40 pm

    I will go with someone different.

  • 13 kiwi // Nov 30, 2010 at 8:51 pm

    Thanks for this – the price did seem to good to be true. Looking to get some desk calendars done for Christmas. Might stick with Photobox – except I don’t like the layouts they offer.

  • 14 lucy // Mar 1, 2013 at 11:44 am

    I will go somewhere else, thanks guys

  • 15 Rachel // May 30, 2013 at 8:13 pm

    Hi

    I used foto.com and received a awful quality photo of my son on a canvas, it was extremely poor quality

    Their customer services were awful and although they kept saying they would resolve it they only did this to delay me taking action via PayPal
    Avoid these at all costs

  • 16 James // Aug 21, 2013 at 8:16 am

    I have been waiting for my photos for 2 weeks and nothing. I checked with the post office and they haven’t received them yet. Wrote on foto.coms email contact us form and have no reply. When a company has no real form of contact it is worrying but when they fail to reply from the one they choose it just seems they are avoiding you. Still no photos! Very disappointing service!

  • 17 jonathan // Sep 18, 2013 at 10:34 am

    thanks for this, I will also go somewhere else

  • 18 ian a needle // Dec 11, 2013 at 7:49 pm

    i designed some Christmas cards..paid in 1 second they said posted ..on 25.11….11.12 still not here….disgusting

  • 19 Sophie // Jan 10, 2014 at 10:00 pm

    I ordered some photos before Christmas and recorded someone else’s. I have been trying to get a response from customer services since then and have heard nothing. They have awful customer service and at the moment I have paid for someone else’s photos and my privacy has been violated as someone else has mine. I will never be using them again and would warn anyone else not to as well.

  • 20 Stephan Pire, CMO // Apr 4, 2014 at 1:17 pm

    Hi Sophie,
    Could you please send me your order number, your situation is unacceptable.

    Gavin- also sorry by the result you’ve got from the text printing. Could you pls also give me your order number?

    In October 2013, we started a huge pivoting from a commodity oriented website (clunky but extremely cheap) to a customer-oriented approach. We’ll soon getting a call number to address all customers issues. In the meantime, I will do everything I can to ease your experience.

    Cheers, Stephan CMO @ FOTO.COM

  • 21 Johnny // May 7, 2014 at 11:58 am

    Should have read this before ordering. I ordered a large print (12×8) and the quality is awful. The original picture was taken on the RAW setting on a Canon 550D. Their print looks like an enlargement of a thumbnail. Too dark, too blurry… awful. Not sure if I should even bother and complain.

  • 22 Moorwood // Aug 16, 2014 at 11:24 am

    We have received our prints, for the most part fine but 4 were printed in 6×4 format instead of larger sizes specified and paid for. Having spent the last hour trying to unsuccessfully use their web-site to explain the problem and not being able to contact them any other way, we have given up and will not be using them again.

  • 23 Kalai // Aug 18, 2014 at 2:25 pm

    I’m beginning to wonder if I was ripped off. I called the number from St. Louis MO, USA and got a very unprofessional sounding phone answering machine. My order was shipped back on May 08, 2014 and it’s now August 18th and I’ve not received it. Also, when I attempt to track my shipment, no information is available except a green checkmark. I don’t understand why it would take over a month to post if it’s within the us (MO-AL) and the fact that the shipping information is non-existent, it makes one worry. I guess I’ll wait another few days and then contact my credit card company for a refund.

  • 24 Joanna // Aug 22, 2014 at 10:10 am

    I have become beyond exasperated by the shocking customer service Foto have provided.

    I had spent a long time putting together a wedding album for my anniversary, and when I went to process the payment for it I was redirected to an error page. I have since spent the last 8 weeks in email correspondence (as there is no phone number) with Foto’s customer service in an effort to resolve the problem. The only explanation I was given was that it was a fault with their payment provider and to keep trying to process the order. I have tried this now more than 10 times from both Apple and PC and via every web browser available – still no luck!!

    After having invested so much time in setting the album up I was reluctant to give up on it and have to go through the same process with a different company. But I am at a point now where I have been trying to resolve the issue for over 2 months via countless emails and I have received no help to rectify the situation.

    To add insult to injury, I have now received an email saying that because my project hasn’t been processed within the 60 days that they allocate for storing a project – it is now going to be deleted.

    Frustrating and disappointing do not even come close to describing the experience I have had with Foto.com

  • 25 Razmick // Jul 9, 2015 at 12:21 pm

    I ordered some photos to be sent to USA, on the website it says 4 to 6 days but it has been 20 days and still no photos.

    I complaint to them, first they said they have changed the postal service, then they said they are not responsible for delays. when I ask for my money back they said that “FOTO.com cannot be held responsible for delays or delivery problems
    due to Bpost or a third party.”

    This is ridiculous, they promise the best buf offer nothing (So far)

    I will never order from them again.
    Razmick

Leave a Comment